Hong Kong Madame - English

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove

June 9th 2022


by Gayatri Bhaumik
 
This piece is based on a December 2021 stay at W Singapore-Sentosa Cove. The situation is evolving constantly with the coronavirus and current rules and restrictions might differ from the ones mentioned below.
 
In the years since we finished high school, my childhood friend and I have managed to see each other at least once a year, catching up for foodie adventures and road trips across the world. Then Covid hit, and as I fly down to Singapore on a crisp December morning in 2021, I realise it’s been over 18 months since we’ve seen each other. And so, the idea for a girls’ getaway is born—nothing crazy, just a retreat to W Singapore-Sentosa Cove. Still, after two years of social distancing and border restrictions in Hong Kong, the resort-like property is a breath of fresh air—literally and figuratively. Tucked away in a secluded cove on Singapore’s Sentosa Island—and its bustling property couldn’t have been more different to the dense urbanity of Hong Kong that had been my reality since March 2020.
 

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
Check-in is a little slow—the lobby is full of Singaporeans checking in for a cheeky staycation; tourists are still thin on the ground despite the launch of Singapore’s Vaccinated Travel Lanes—and is full of the red tape we’ve come to expect in the pandemic. There’s a health declaration to fill out; bookings to make for breakfast, the pool, and gym; and a welcome pack of masks and sanitisers to grab alongside our keys. Still, the staff are friendly and after all, it’s not too long a wait.
 

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
Soon enough, we’re checking into our Fabulous Guest Room, a wonderfully spacious, colourful bolthole with a balcony overlooking the hotel’s pool deck and neighbouring marina. The hotel team has noted that my birthday had been the previous weekend, so there are balloons draped all over the massive king-sized bed, Champagne chilling by the chaise longue, and cake on the spacious dresser-worktable.
 

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
In December, Singaporean hotels were required to take time-limited bookings for their facilities to encourage social distancing, and we’ve been lucky enough to get slots for the WET Outdoor Pool this afternoon. So, after a quick wardrobe change, we head downstairs, grab two sunloungers by the gigantic, palm-fringed, laguna-like space and spend two hours under the unrelenting Singapore sun between dips in the refreshingly cool water.
 
We’re both fully vaccinated, so we’re given red wristbands that indicate we can have our masks off. It’s a blissful moment of normalcy after nearly two years of craziness. 
 
That evening, we arrive at SKIRT, W Singapore-Sentosa Cove’s grill restaurant, where we’ve booked a table for dinner.

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
Sustainable barrel-aged cocktails are the restaurant’s signature, so we order a round of Negronis for aperitifs—they’re utterly delightful, biting yet smooth. For our meal, we embark on the “Grazing Around” menu which is a collection of SKIRT’s best seasonal dishes. There’s a rich, flavoursome bone marrow served with crispy toast, a hefty salad bursting with the freshest fruits and veggies, an ambitious foie-gras dish, and of course, a perfectly grilled steak served with heaping sides of roasted baby potatoes and green asparagus stalks.
 
The next morning, I hit FIT—W Singapore-Sentosa Cove’s gym—early to work off the indulgences (and prepare for more). In a nod to the hotel’s too-cool-for-school character, the gym is a slightly dark space with thumping music to drive your workouts—though, natural light filters in through floor-to-ceiling windows and the equipment is top-notch. Again, because I’m vaccinated, I can work out without a mask and it’s a relief to be able to breathe properly through my sweat session.
 
Unfortunately, by the time we’d checked in the day before, all the breakfast spots at The Kitchen Table—the all-day-dining restaurant—were taken. Instead, we’re offered a set breakfast, to be delivered to the room. At exactly 8am, a tray overflowing with fresh fruits, baked goods, and the W’s decadent spicy avocado toast is delivered and preps us for a full day of lounging around. Incidentally, we manage to sneak into The Kitchen Table for breakfast the following day before checking out and are delighted to find an all-you-can-eat offering—delivered straight to your table, because Covid—and tuck into a feast of açai bowls, viennoiserie, and, because you can take the girl out of Hong Kong but not the Hong Kong out of the girl, dim sum treats.
 

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
On our last evening, we settle into WOOBAR, W Singapore-Sentosa Cove’s stylish lounge bar—and pull up a seat for a personalised cocktail class with the hotel’s head mixologist. After discerning our preferences, he decides to keep things simple and show us how to whip up Negronis. Spoiler: we manage to butcher it—slightly—because, apparently, we didn’t stir fast enough and diluted the drink.
 
In going from Hong Kong to Singapore for the Christmas break, it may seem I’d traded one city for another. Still, while the Lion City’s far looser Covid restrictions were a welcome break, it was the serene escape at W Singapore-Sentosa Cove, far from the towering skyscrapers and maddening crowds of downtown Singapore, that made the break a holiday.

https://www.marriott.com/en-us/hotels/sinwh-w-singapore-sentosa-cove/overview/ 


 
This write-up is based on a complimentary media stay. No money has been paid for publishing this piece which is entirely based on the genuine opinion of its author.






 

A Girls’ Getaway to W Singapore – Sentosa Cove

About Gayatri Bhaumik  

Always ready for her next adventure, Gayatri Bhaumik  took her first flight at 10 days old and hasn’t looked back since. After long stints in Bangkok, Melbourne and London, she's now based in Hong Kong. She contributes travel and lifestyle content to titles like Travel + Leisure SEA, ECHELON, Elite Traveler, Forbes Travel Guide and Destination Deluxe. She also founded The Wordsmith’s Ink, a corporate copywriting and social media agency, where she works with clients like Shangri-La Hotels and Shopify.






 


In the same section:
< >

Tuesday, June 14th 2022 - 08:00 A Foodie Escape at Four Seasons Hotel Singapore


New comment:
Twitter

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove

9 Juin 2022


par Gayatri Bhaumik
 
L’article ci-après s’appuie sur un séjour effectué en décembre 2021. En raison de la situation actuelle liée à l’épidémie de coronavirus, les règles et mesures en vigueur aujourd’hui peuvent différer de celles évoquées dans cet article.
 
Dans les années qui ont suivi mon lycée, et bien que nous vivions dans des pays différents, mon amie d’enfance et moi avons réussi à nous retrouver au moins une fois par an pour partager des aventures gastronomiques et explorer de nouveaux pays. Et puis la COVID a frappé. Et c’est quand j’ai atterri à Singapour en ce matin de décembre 2021 que j’ai réalisé que nous ne nous étions pas vues depuis plus de 18 mois. Des retrouvailles en bonnes et dues forme s’imposaient et l’idée d’un petit séjour entre filles a germée dans nos têtes. Rien de trop fou, juste deux jours au W Singapore-Sentosa Cove. Mais après deux ans de restrictions à Hong Kong, cette petite escapade m’a fait l’effet d’un grand bol d’air frais. Quoi de mieux qu’un séjour dans une petite crique sur l’ile de Sent osa pour oublier la jungle urbaine qui a été mon quotidien à Hong Kong depuis mars 2020 ?
 

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
Le check-in prend un peu de temps, le hall de l’hôtel est plein de locaux. Les touristes sont encore minoritaires, malgré le lancement des Vaccinated Travel Lanes. Et bien évidemment les procédures administratives sont plus longues qu’en temps normal. Il faut remplir sa déclaration de santé, réserver son spot au petit-déjeuner et au bord de la piscine, réserver sa session de sport aussi si vous souhaitez profiter de la salle de l’hôtel. Les clés nous sont enfin remises, accompagnées d’un paquet de bienvenu comprenant masques et désinfectant pour les mains. Je me plains mais finalement le process reste assez rapide et les équipes sont efficaces et très gentilles.
 

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
Nous découvrons enfin notre chambre, une Fabulous Guest Room, spacieuse et colorée. Le gros point plus c’est le balcon qui donne sur la piscine de l’hôtel et sur la marina voisine. L’équipe a gentiment noté que mon anniversaire était la semaine d’avant et la chambre a été décorée de ballons. Cela ne s’arrête pas là puisqu’une bouteille de Champagne nous attend au frais dans un seau sur le balcon et qu’un gâteau a aussi été préparé.
 

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
En Décembre, il était demandé aux hôtels de Singapore de fonctionner avec des créneaux horaires pour l‘accès à leurs équipements, afin de faciliter le respect des mesures de distanciation. Nous avons eu la chance de pouvoir pour la piscine cet après-midi. Changement express de tenue et nous voila sur des chaises longues, au bord de l’énorme bassin bordé de palmiers. Quel bonheur de pouvoir profiter du soleil (qui ne fait jamais défaut à Singapour il faut le dire) entre deux plongeons pour se rafraichir.
 
Et comme nous sommes toutes les deux vaccinées, nous portons les précieux bracelets rouges qui nous donnent le droit d’enlever notre masque. Un moment de bonheur et de normalité après deux ans de restrictions.
 
Ce soir-là, nous avons réservé une table au W Singapore-Sentosa Cove’s grill.

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
On attaque avec l’os à moelle bien garni et servi avec son pain grillé, la salade de légumes et fruits frais et un foie-gras mais la pièce de résistance c’est bien sur le steak. Celui-ci est grillé à la perfection et servi avec une généreuse quantité de pommes de terre et d’asperges vertes sautées.
 
Le lendemain matin je décide d’aller éliminer tout cela à FIT, la salle de sport de l’hôtel. Une séance matinale qui me met en forme pour la journée et m’ouvre l’appétit. La salle de sport joue le style W à fond avec son éclairage noir et sa musique dynamique qui vous motive pendant votre séance. Les équipements sont du dernier cri et la lumière naturelle entre amplement grâce au baies vitrées. Là encore, je peux profiter de mon statut de vaccinée pour retirer mon masque et c’est un vrai soulagement de pouvoir respirer pendant ma séance de sport.
 
Malheureusement, restrictions obligent, nous n’avons pas réussi à avoir une table pour le petit-déjeuner à The Kitchen Table, le restaurant de l’hôtel. Il nous a donc été proposé un petit-déjeuner en chambre. À 8h pétantes, un plateau débordant de fruits frais et de viennoiseries ainsi qu’un avocado toast épicé très coquin nous sont livrés. De quoi bien commencer une journée qui s’annonce reposante à souhait. Nous retentons notre chance pour avoir un spot à The Kitchen Table le lendemain matin, avant notre départ, et c’est un succès. Nous aurons donc testé le petit-déjeuner sous ses deux formes. Au restaurant c’est une formule all-you-can-eat qui vous est proposée avec service à table. Au menu pour nous : acai bowl, viennoiseries mais aussi des dim sum. J’ai beau critiquer Hong Kong, Hong Kong ne me quitte vraiment jamais.

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
Pour notre dernière soirée, après une journée occupée à ne pas faire grand-chose (et ça fait du bien), nous nous dirigeons vers le bar de l’hôtel, WOOBAR, où nous attend un cours de cocktails avec le mixologiste en chef des lieux. Ayant cerné nos préférences, il nous propose de nous attaquer au Negroni. N’est pas mixologiste qui veut puisque malgré ses conseils avisés nous nous débrouillons pour massacrer nos créations. Visiblement nous n’avons pas remué assez vite et nous avons donc dilué notre cocktail … Oups.
 
Mon choix de quitter Hong Kong pour passer Noël dernier à Singapour en a surpris certains. N’est-ce pas finalement quitter la ville pour retourner en ville ? Mais les restrictions bien plus légères à Singapour ainsi que cette escapade plus que bienvenue a Sentosa ont fait de ces vacances un vrai moment de répit.
 
 

Cet article s’appuie sur un séjour offert par l’hôtel W Singapore – Sentosa Cove mais n’a pas donné lieu à une rémunération financière. L’avis exprimé y est donc 100% celui de son auteur.
 




 

Deux jours entre filles au W Singapore – Sentosa Cove
À propos de Gayatri Bhaumik 

Toujours prête pour une nouvelle aventure, Gayatri  Bhaumik  a pris son premier avion quand elle avait 10 jours et n’a jamais cessé de voyager depuis. Après de longues escales à Bangkok, Melbourne et Londres, elle est aujourd’hui basée à Hong Kong. Elle écrit pour des publications voyages et lifestyle telles que Travel + Leisure SEA, ECHELON, Elite Traveler, Forbes Travel Guide et Destination Deluxe. Elle est également la fondatrice de The Wordsmith’s Ink, une agence de copywriting et community management, via laquelle elle travaille avec des clients comme Shangri-La Hotels et Shopify.


 


Dans la même rubrique :
< >

Lundi 27 Septembre 2021 - 08:00 La Seine en majesté au Cheval Blanc Paris


Nouveau commentaire :
Twitter